Greta Gerwig/Paula Schwartz photo
old mission peninsula store,, old mission peninsula gifts, omp photos, old mission peninsula photos, old mission peninsula greeting cards, old mission peninsula t-shirts, old mission panthers, peninsula redeyes, old mission peninsula hats, old mission gazette

Greta Gerwig’s directorial debut “Lady Bird” was the Best Film of the year according to the New York Film Critics Circle who voted today for their 2017 awards winners. The awards will be handed out during their annual ceremony on Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at Tao Downtown.

Best acting honors went to Saoirse Ronan for her starring role in Lady Bird and Timothée Chalamet for Call Me By Your Name. This mirrors the Gotham Awards and puts both actors in strong positions for the Oscar race.

Saoirse Ronan/Paula Schwartz photo

As for Best Director, Sean Baker was the surprise pick for The Florida Project.

The New York Critics are a savvy group and they usually get it right. They refer to themselves as “a principled alternative to the Oscars, honoring aesthetic merit in a forum that is immune to commercial and political pressures.”

At last years New York Critics Circle Awards, when Casey Affleck gave his acceptance speech for best actor for “Manchester by the Sea,” he turned the tables on the critics by reading off some of his more spectacularly bad reviews by many of the same film critics who were in the room. It will be hard to top that this year.

Following is the list of winners:

Best Film:
Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig

Best Director:
Sean Baker, The Florida Project

Best Screenplay:
Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread

Best Actress:
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird

Best Actor:
Timothée Chalamet, Call Me By Your Name

Timothée Chalamet/Paula Schwartz photo

Best Supporting Actress:
Tiffany Haddish, Girls Trip

Best Supporting Actor:
Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project

Best Foreign Language Film:
BPM (Beats Per Minute), Robin Campillo

Best Cinematography:
Mudbound, Rachel Morrison

Best Nonfiction Film:
Faces Places, Agnès Varda

Best First Film:
Get Out, Jordan Peele

Best Animated Film:
Coco, Lee Unkrich, Adrian Molina

Special Award:
Career Achievement, Molly Haskell
The awards will be handed out during their annual ceremony on Wednesday, January 3, 2018 at Tao Downtown.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here